How Many Modules For Teaching At Unisa 2024/2025

By |

How Many Modules For Teaching At Unisa 2024/2025

How Many Modules For Teaching At Unisa 2024/2025

Decoding the Modules: Teaching at UNISA for 2024/2025:

Education is a dynamic field that is always changing in response to societal demands and technological developments. Understanding the module structure is essential for anyone considering beginning a teaching career through the University of South Africa (UNISA) for the academic year 2024–2025. This post explores the specifics of UNISA’s forthcoming academic year’s instructional modules.

If you aspire to become an educator and are considering pursuing your teaching qualifications at the University of South Africa (UNISA), you may be curious about the number of modules required for the teaching program. UNISA offers a variety of teaching courses, and understanding the module structure is vital for planning your academic journey.

Number Of UNISA Teaching Modules

Each level of this 40-module Bachelor of Education degree programme MUST include 10 of the following modules: A. 15 required modules for professional studies. These courses must be taught in a specific order.

How Many Modules For Teaching At Unisa 2024/2025

Foundation Phase Teaching:

  • Catering to educators aiming to teach grades R-3, this qualification typically involves modules encompassing early childhood development, numeracy, literacy, and life skills.

Intermediate and Senior Phase Teaching:

  • For those wanting to teach grades 4-9, modules here delve deeper into specific subjects like Mathematics, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, and Languages.

Further Education and Training (FET) Teaching:

  • This qualification targets grades 10-12. Modules become more specialized, focusing intensively on subjects such as Physics, Chemistry, History, or specific languages.

Typical Module Count At Unisa for 2024/2025

While the exact number of modules may vary based on curriculum updates, a typical breakdown for a Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) degree, which spans over four years, is as follows:

  • Year 1: Approximately 10-12 foundational modules covering educational psychology, pedagogy, and core subjects.
  • Year 2: Roughly 8-10 intermediate modules diving deeper into teaching methodologies and core subjects.
  • Year 3: Around 8 modules with a blend of pedagogical studies and specialized subject content.
  • Year 4: Approximately 6-8 modules, often with a focus on advanced teaching strategies, educational management, and specialized subjects.

For those pursuing diplomas or advanced degrees like Honours, Masters, or Doctorates, the module count and structure will differ.

UNISA Teaching Module Admission Requirements 2024

Qualification is offered until 2025, and ONLY for students previously registered for this qualification.

  • A National Senior Certificate (NSC) (Degree endorsement) with at least 50% in the language of teaching and learning and at least 50% in Mathematics, This only applies to students who wish to select teaching subjects from the following fields; Mathematics; Natural Sciences; Accounting and Agriculture Or A Senior Certificate (SC) with matriculation exemption or qualify for the exemption from the Matriculation Board with at least a D symbol on HG or a C symbol on SG in the language of teaching and learning and with at least a D symbol on HG or a C symbol on SG in Mathematics, this only applies to students who wish to select teaching subjects from the following fields; Mathematics; Natural Sciences; Accounting and Agriculture.
  • Or A National Certificate Vocational (NCV) Level 4 with at least 60% in three fundamental subjects including the language of teaching and learning; 70% in four vocational subjects chosen from the NCV level 4 subjects. Subjects under the following categories are approved as eligible for a BEd degree: All official languages as First Additional Language level, Agriculture and Nature Conservation, Business, Commerce and Management Sciences Services, Education, training and Development. Applicants who do not comply with the above requirements may follow Unisa’s alternative pathways

READ ALSO; What Are The Requirements For Teaching At Unisa 2024

UNISA Teaching Module Rules on Qualification

This Bachelor of Education degree curriculum consists of 40 modules; each level MUST have 10 modules which include:
A. Professional Studies: 15 Compulsory modules.

  1. These modules have to be offered in sequential order.
  2.  There are compulsory Teaching Practice modules which are year modules and can ONLY be registered during semester 1
    registration period.

B. Educational Themes: 10 Compulsory modules

C. THREE School Subjects: 15 modules

TWO school subjects up to 2nd-year level and a THIRD School subject on 1st-year level.

  1.  It is compulsory to include English as well as either Afrikaans or an African language as part of the school subject combination.
  2. Students with foreign nationality may be excluded from offering a 2nd official language (Afrikaans or an African Language), but they need to offer another school subject instead.

D. Additional modules

  1.  Additional school subject modules must be offered if the total amount of modules offered for the three school subjects does not add up to 15 modules.
  2. You may register for a maximum of 60 NQF credits per semester/ 120 NQF credits per year

READ ALSO; Unisa Application Outcome 2024-2025

Unisa Courses Education

UNISA Contact

Student enquiries

  • 0800 00 1870
    Contact details for student assistance and service

Ethics Hotline

  • 0800 075 278

Visit us

  • Main campus:
    Preller Street, Muckleneuk Ridge, Pretoria
  • Sunnyside campus (applications, registrations & learning centre):
    Cnr Justice Mahomed & Steve Biko Streets, Sunnyside, Pretoria

Pursuing a teaching qualification at the University of South Africa (UNISA) can be a rewarding and enriching experience. The number of modules required for teaching programs at UNISA varies depending on the specific qualification you choose. Whether you are interested in the Foundation Phase, Intermediate Phase, Senior Phase, FET Phase, or the PGCE program, each comes with its own set of modules to complete. Visit the official Website Of Unisa for more Details.

Other Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *